Call for Applications: Fifth Annual County Leadership in Conservation Awards Program

TPL and the National Association of Counties (NACo) are now accepting applications for the fifth annual County Leadership in Conservation Awards. The awards recognize leadership, innovation, and excellence by forward-thinking county leaders in local land conservation.

Successful programs will be judged on the basis of:

  • Innovation
  • Financing Mechanisms
  • Visioning and Planning
  • Diversity and Strength of Partnerships
  • Acquisition and/or Implementation Excellence
  • Generating Public Awareness and Support
  • Program Management

The Awards help NACo and TPL recognize innovative counties making great strides in local land conservation and help generate publicity for these groundbreaking efforts. Bringing recognition to the county’s program, and providing “best practice” examples for county and other local officials to design landmark conservation programs across the country are the main goals of the Awards.

Access the Application Form for more information and to apply electronically. The deadline for submissions is November 21, 2008 by 5 PM EST.

Award winners will be recognized at NACo’s Legislative Conference in Washington, D.C. in March 2009.

More information about awards categories and criteria.
Read more about the 2008 County Leadership in Conservation Award winners

Comments are closed.