Alabama Tourism Award winners

The 2011 Alabama Governor’s Conference on Tourism was held July 23-26 at the Marriott Shoals Hotel and Spa in Florence.  Members of the tourism industry from across the state joined together to discuss the trends and future outlook of the travel industry. The event concluded with the Annual Alabama Tourism Awards which honors outstanding achievements in the state’s tourism industry.  

 The Alabama Tourism Department coordinates the awards program. The 14 winners are as follows:

Government Advocate Award – Senator Arthur Orr
Media Advocate Award – Mary Colurso, The Birmingham News
Organization of the Year – Alabama Mountain Lakes Association
Attraction of the Year – Barber Motorsports Park & Museum
Event of the Year-  Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama
Tourism Executive of the Year- Judy Ryals, Huntsville/Madison County CVB
Tourism Employee of the Year – Ron McConnell, Mobile CVB
Alabama Tourism Department Employee of the Year – Frances Smiley
Partnership Award – Tuscaloosa CVB
Welcome Center of the Year – Cleburne
Theme Campaign – Alabama State Council on the Arts
Rising Star Award – Kayla Riggs, Decatur CVB
Alabama Tourism Hall of Fame – Doug Purcell
Director’s Award – FAME Recording Studios

For more information on each category and the winners please see the Alabama Tourism Department press room at

Comments are closed.